About

More about

arrow_forward

Beauty, reliability and performance


Del West is your partner for designing and producing watch cases and exterior components. From creating new materials to complete case production, we offer the watch industry a comprehensive range of services. Formed of materials science experts and watch industry professionals, our team will guide you throughout your entire project. All of our production is carried out at the Del West site in Roche, Switzerland.

Contact us!

arrow_back

Back

Del West

Del West
close

Del West

The beginnings


Del West was founded in 1973 near Los Angeles by Al Sommer, an aerospace engineer. The company is now a world leader in valve train components for high-performance engines. Having dominated the Formula 1 circuits for over 30 years, we are also renowned players in the aerospace, medical device and luxury markets. Since 2008, we have been a recognised player in the Swiss watchmaking industry. Amassing a unique combination of skills, the Swiss Del West structure combines materials science and cutting-edge skills in industrial creation and production. All of our watch activities are centralised in Roche, in the Swiss canton of Vaud.

Olivier Conne

Olivier Conne
close

Olivier Conne

Chief Executive Officer


With his unwavering optimism, entrepreneurial spirit and a strong tendency to stray from the beaten path, he could have easily been “born in the USA”. But he is Swiss, trained at EPFL before earning his stripes at a large multinational for which he worked on four continents. His go-getting attitude hinges on the precision, rigour and deep-set demand for honesty that characterise his Swiss roots.

Al Sommer

Al Sommer
close

Al Sommer

Founder and Chairman


A metallurgist and doctor of materials science with an insatiable thirst for innovation, he is the soul of Del West. A cross between entrepreneur and scientist, he pairs business acumen with natural curiosity. Pragmatic, demanding, yet always ready to embrace the unexpected, he is constantly on the lookout for new materials and new challenges. Based in California, he contributes his unique outlook to the materials used in watchmaking.

Wojtek Zolnowski

Wojtek Zolnowski
close

Wojtek Zolnowski

Technical Director


Our technical brains, he devotes his mechanical genius to our watchmaking parts. Although a true scholar, he claims to evaluate the results of the most complicated calculations in the light of his well-grounded common sense. A mechanical engineer trained in Poland and France, he joined us from F1. At Del West, he passionately tackles R&D challenges, product development, and continuous improvement of product quality.

Joël Glauser

Joël Glauser
close

Joël Glauser

Director of Production


Born in Val-de-Ruz, a Neuchâtel town in the heart of the Watch Valley, for over 10 years, he developed and designed innovative products in our R&D department. He now oversees their production. Fascinated by race cars since an early age, the engineering graduate of Haute Ecole-ARC brings together the spirits of Del West, watchmaking and motor racing.

Amal Frésard

Amal Frésard
close

Amal Frésard

Finishings Department


This passionate professional worked in the watch industry for 17 years before joining Del West. With her uncommon skills and unswerving dedication, she is only ever content with perfection. Every day, she is captivated by each piece that she works on, always asking herself the same question: how can I make it beautiful?

Products

More about

arrow_forward

Our products

Materials specialist Del West devotes its extensive expertise to designing cases and exterior components with exceptional properties. Whatever your needs, our design office will guide you in your plans and you will enjoy direct contact with a single person in the relevant technical field. Thanks to our unique expertise in materials, from the most classic to the most avant-garde, our teams are capable of incorporating your technical and aesthetic requirements. Our skills go far beyond steel and titanium. Whether intermetallic compounds, composites or carbons, we are continually discovering, studying and producing new compositions. And if the material you need doesn't exist, we'll create it for you. Heavier, more resistant, shinier: your challenge is our challenge.

Contact us!

Exterior parts

  • Complete case
  • Case middle
  • Case-back
  • Bezel
  • Push-piece
  • Crown guard
  • Casing rings
  • Flanges

Our expertise covers the most traditional techniques, for classic, large-scale production, to the most complex projects. Stainless steel, brass, titanium alloys, intermetallic compounds, microarc oxidation, or integrating ceramic directly into the matrix – we manage, create or adapt materials to give your exterior parts unique properties. We work materials that are extremely difficult to machine while giving these elements unparalleled resistance to oxidation, lightness and hardness, as well as aesthetic properties.

arrow_back

Back

Innovation

More about

arrow_forward

Born to innovate

At Del West, everything begins in the same way: discovering new solutions and developing unique concepts to answer the questions of tomorrow. Incorporating a design office, watchmaking workshops, cutting-edge simulation tools and production on the same site, Del West is a well-oiled machine destined to invent and create for you. And although we have been creating innovative watches since 2008, we have known how to do so for much, much longer: pioneers of titanium valves and inventors of ceramic coatings for pneumatic valve springs, we have been at the cutting edge of motor sport innovation for over 30 years.

Contact us!

World firsts created by Del West

Del West creates all-new materials to produce extraordinary watches. Here are a few examples of innovations developed and produced for watch brands with exacting standards.

We created the world’s first watch made from PEO Coated aluminium. This all-new composition combines the lightness of aeronautical aluminium with the unique hardness and appearance of ceramic.

Even more lightweight than aluminium, we produced the very first PEO Coated magnesium watch. This material also offers a technical white colour with a unique look.

For an MMC (Metal Matrix Composites) watch, we directly incorporated ceramic into the material – a first in watchmaking. The ceramic microspheres are introduced into the very structure of the aluminium matrix. The watch is also covered with ceramic to protect it.

To create the very first watch made from TiAl intermetallic, we succeeded in giving this material the intended shape even though it is renowned as being impossible to machine. The challenge was worth it: formed of equal parts aluminium and titanium, this metal is very light yet also very resistant to oxidation. This is an example of the cutting-edge skills developed by Del West for F1 and adapted to create an exceptional watch.

arrow_back

Back

Expertise

More about

arrow_forward

Expertise that sets us apart

As a supplier for the greatest Formula 1 teams and engine designers, Del West enjoys a world-renowned reputation and unique know-how thanks to its long history in the ultra-demanding world of competitive motor racing. Since 2008, many of the most prestigious Swiss watch brands have called on our services to create timepieces with exceptional properties. Mainly made up of doctors of materials science, our R&D team can draw on its extensive experience while relying on our network of universities. Your projects will benefit from the technical and scientific skills of a worldwide industry leader, combined with the expertise and experience of watchmaking professionals. By creating new materials, developing advanced designs, providing cutting-edge machining and producing classic cases, our unique profile as a watch subcontractor ensures the exclusivity of your products.

Contact us!

arrow_back

Back

Materials

Materials
close

Materials


The watchmaking world is constantly looking for materials that offer improved performance, new aesthetic possibilities, or both. To meet these challenges and discover the best solutions, Del West has a unique organisation that pairs materials science with cutting-edge production skills. Whether you want to create innovative products using materials known for being impossible to work, or your idea is still on paper, our team is here to support you and help you push back boundaries. To create an extended life span, a unique appearance or an incomparable feel, your cases and exterior components are produced using the best materials, from watchmaking classics to the most innovative structures.

Design and industrialisation

Design and industrialisation
close

Design and industrialisation


At Del West, our employees frequently wonder: “What if…?” Often, an idea arises from this question, from a mixture of curiosity and imagination. Everything begins with an idea. But ideas also come from our clients. Working in the strictest confidentiality, our specialists interpret their requests and elucidate them. Now come the design tools. Once we have settled on an idea, we conceptualise various different options using CAD (Computer Aided Design) software such as CATIA or SolidWorks, which are industry standards. We then use FEM (Finite Element Method) software such as ANSYS or others developed in-house, to evaluate the behaviour of each option when confronted with different physical constraints. Lastly, we complete a number of successive iterations to be sure that we have settled on the perfect solution.

Quality

Quality
close

Quality


Precision is part of Del West’s signature, and that is no coincidence. It defines our organisation. We demand that our products are of the utmost quality because our history has made this requirement an essential element. Demonstrated by a true culture of high quality – crucial in the world of Formula 1 – the widely renowned precision of our products is ensured by the most advanced three-dimensional and optical measuring instruments. But it is also guaranteed by our valued employees – the watch parts are inspected by professionals with extensive experience in the watch industry. The visual assessment is carried out in accordance with the strictest requirements for watch aesthetics.

Production

Production
close

Production


Complex machining, bar turning, finish-machining, wire erosion or multi-axial grinding, Del West is capable of carrying out any production operation at its Swiss site thanks to its vast pool of cutting-edge machines. Steel, brass and titanium alike, our experience with conventional and exotic materials enables us to work, fashion and master the aesthetics of any material. Whether you are looking to create a few parts or a series of thousands of pieces, the quality and style of your watches will be flawless.

Finishings

Finishings
close

Finishings


For many years, Del West has been renowned as a world specialist in surface quality – an essential component of a watch’s operation and appearance. Experienced professionals work on your pieces in our exclusive watch polishing and brightening workshop.

DLC and PVD

DLC and PVD
close

DLC and PVD


DLC (Diamond Like Carbon) coating is an extremely thin film applied using plasma-assisted chemical vapour deposition, or PACVD. These coatings combine a very low coefficient of friction with extreme hardness. They are used to reduce wear in a wide range of industrial applications and to make watch parts more attractive. Del West mainly makes use of them when reduction of friction is an essential objective, such as for watch movement components. Outside of its watchmaking applications, we have been using this coating for over 20 years in products intended for use in motor sports. Our “thin film coatings” service is provided by UB-TS, a joint venture created with our partner HEF and based at the Roche site.

PEO surface treatment

PEO surface treatment
close

PEO surface treatment


Plasma electrolytic oxidation, or PEO, is a very dense and hard ceramic treatment applied to surfaces made from light alloys such as aluminium, titanium, magnesium or zirconium. We apply extremely hard treatments that have an average thickness of 30 microns. PEO differs from other surface treatments such as anodising due to its intrinsic adhesion to the substrate to which it is applied and its greater resistance to wear. It is also a lot denser. There are many applications of this treatment, which include the coatings of F1 pneumatic valve springs and certain watch components.

Del West – Europe


ZI des Vernes
1852 Roche
Switzerland

T. +41 21 967 2121
F. +41 21 967 2127

Contact us

Please contact us if you would like more information about our products and company or if you have any other requests. Our team is at your disposal and will be delighted to answer any queries.

À propos

En savoir plus

arrow_forward

Beauté, fiabilité, performances


Del West est votre partenaire pour la conception et la production des boîtes et composants d’habillage de vos montres. De la création de nouveaux matériaux à la fabrication intégrale de boîtes, nous offrons une palette complète de services à l’industrie horlogère. Constituée d’experts en science des matériaux et de professionnels de l’horlogerie, notre équipe vous accompagne d’un bout à l’autre de votre projet. Nous produisons entièrement sur le site Del West de Roche, en Suisse.

Contactez-nous !

arrow_back

Retour

Del West

Del West
close

Del West

Les origines


Del West a été fondée en 1973 près de Los Angeles par Al Sommer, ingénieur aérospatial. La société est aujourd’hui un leader mondial des composants de distribution des moteurs de haute performance. Occupant une présence centrale sur les circuits de Formule 1 depuis plus de 30 ans, nous sommes aussi des acteurs renommés sur les marchés de l’aéronautique, des dispositifs médicaux ou du luxe. Nous sommes présents et reconnus dans le domaine de l’horlogerie suisse depuis 2008. Pôle de compétences unique en son genre, la structure Del West en Suisse allie science des matériaux et compétences de pointe dans la réalisation et la production industrielle. Toutes nos activités horlogères sont centralisées à Roche, dans le canton de Vaud.

Olivier Conne

Olivier Conne
close

Olivier Conne

Directeur Général


Un esprit résolument optimiste, une âme d’entrepreneur, une forte tendance à sortir des sentiers battus : il pourrait être « made in USA ». Mais il est suisse, formé à l’EPFL, et aguerri auprès d’une grande multinationale pour laquelle il a œuvré sur quatre continents. Son tempérament fonceur s’articule à la précision, la rigueur et la profonde exigence d’honnêteté qui caractérisent la tradition helvétique dont il est issu.

Al Sommer

Al Sommer
close

Al Sommer

Fondateur et Président


Métallurgiste et docteur en matériaux, insatiable innovateur, l’âme de Del West. Fusion de l’entrepreneur et du scientifique, il allie sens des affaires et curiosité naturelle. Pragmatique, exigeant mais toujours prêt à accueillir l’inattendu, il est en quête permanente de nouveaux matériaux, de nouveaux défis. Établi en Californie, il apporte son regard unique sur l’approche des matériaux destinés à l’horlogerie.

Wojtek Zolnowski

Wojtek Zolnowski
close

Wojtek Zolnowski

Directeur Technique


Notre sage de la technique. Un virtuose de la mécanique à la disposition de nos pièces d’horlogerie. Véritable érudit, c’est pourtant à la lumière du bon sens terrien qu’il dit évaluer les résultats des calculs les plus complexes. Ingénieur mécanique formé en Pologne puis en France, il nous vient de la F1. Chez Del West, il s’attèle avec passion aux défis R&D, au développement des produits et à l’amélioration constante de leur qualité.

Joël Glauser

Joël Glauser
close

Joël Glauser

Directeur de Production


Enfant du Val-de-Ruz, localité neuchâteloise située au cœur de la WatchValley. Pendant plus de dix ans, il a imaginé et conçu des produits innovants au sein de notre département R&D. Aujourd’hui, il dirige leur réalisation. Fasciné depuis toujours par les voitures de course, cet ingénieur issu de la Haute Ecole-ARC porte en lui les univers Del West, ceux de l’horlogerie et de la compétition automobile.

Amal Frésard

Amal Frésard
close

Amal Frésard

Département Terminaisons


Une professionnelle passionnée qui a œuvré dans l’industrie horlogère pendant 17 ans avant de rejoindre Del West. D’une habileté hors normes, d’une persévérance inaltérable, elle ne se satisfait que de la perfection. Elle se passionne chaque jour pour chacune des pièces horlogères qu’elle travaille et se pose sans relâche la même question : comment faire pour qu’elle soit belle ?

Produits

En savoir plus

arrow_forward

Nos produits

Spécialiste des matériaux, Del West investit toute son expertise pour concevoir des boîtes et des composants d’habillage aux propriétés exceptionnelles. Quelle que soit votre demande, notre bureau d’études vous accompagne dans vos projets, et vous êtes en relation directe avec un interlocuteur unique dans le domaine technique. Nos équipes sauront intégrer vos exigences techniques et esthétiques grâce à notre maîtrise unique des matériaux, du plus classique au plus avant-gardiste. Nos compétences vont bien au-delà de l’acier et du titane. Intermétalliques, composites, carbones, nous découvrons, étudions et produisons continuellement de nouvelles compositions. Et si le matériau dont vous avez besoin n’existe pas encore, nous le créons pour vous. Plus lourd, plus résistant, plus brillant : votre défi sera la nôtre.

Contactez-nous !

Habillage

  • Boîte complète
  • Carrure
  • Fond
  • Lunette
  • Poussoir
  • Protège-couronne
  • Cercles d’emboîtage
  • Réhauts

Notre savoir-faire s’étend des techniques les plus traditionnelles, pour la production classique en grandes séries, aux projets les plus complexes. Inox, laiton, alliages de titane, intermétalliques, revêtement micro-arcs ou intégration de céramique directement dans la matrice, nous maîtrisons, créons ou adaptons des matériaux donnant à vos pièces d’habillage des propriétés uniques. Nous travaillons des matériaux extrêmement difficiles à usiner et savons doter ces éléments d’une résistance à l’oxydation, d’une légèreté, d’une dureté ou de qualités esthétiques incomparables.

arrow_back

Retour

Innovation

En savoir plus

arrow_forward

Nés pour innover

Découvrir de nouvelles solutions, développer des concepts inédits pour répondre aux questions de demain : tout, chez Del West, commence par là. Bureaux d’études, ateliers d’horlogerie, dispositifs de simulation de pointe, production sur le même site, Del West est une machine à inventer et à réaliser, mise à votre entière disposition. Et ce que nous faisons depuis 2008 pour créer des montres innovantes, nous savons le faire depuis bien plus longtemps : pionniers de la soupape en titane, inventeurs du revêtement céramique dans les rappels de soupapes pneumatiques, nous sommes à la pointe de l’innovation dans le domaine du sport automobile depuis près de 30 ans.

Contactez-nous !

Premières mondiales signées Del West

Del West crée des matériaux inédits pour produire des montres extraordinaires. Voici quelques exemples d’innovations développées et mises en œuvre pour des marques horlogères exigeantes.

Nous avons créé la première montre en aluminium céramisé du monde. Cette composition inédite allie la légèreté de l’aluminium aéronautique à la dureté et l’esthétique uniques de la céramique.

Encore plus léger que l’aluminium : nous avons réalisé la toute première montre en magnésium céramisé. Ce matériau offre également un blanc technique à l’esthétique très particulière.

Pour montre en MMC (Metal Matrix Composites ), nous avons intégré la céramique directement dans la masse, une première dans l’horlogerie. Les microsphères de céramique sont dans la structure même de la matrice d’aluminium. Cette montre est également recouverte de céramique pour sa protection.

Afin de créer la toute première montre en intermétallique TiAl, nous avons réussi à donner les formes voulues à un matériau réputé impossible à usiner. Le défi en valait la peine : composé à part égale d’aluminium et de titane, ce métal est très léger, mais aussi très résistant à l’oxydation. Un exemple de compétences de pointe développées par Del West pour la F1, et adaptées pour créer une montre d’exception.

arrow_back

Retour

Expertise

En savoir plus

arrow_forward

Une expérience qui fait la différence

Fournisseur des plus grands motoristes et écuries de Formule 1, Del West tient sa réputation mondiale et son savoir-faire unique de sa longue histoire dans le domaine ultra-exigeant de l’automobile de compétition. Depuis 2008, de nombreuses marques horlogères helvétiques parmi les plus prestigieuses font appel à nos services pour proposer des garde-temps aux propriétés exceptionnelles. Principalement composée de docteurs en matériaux, notre équipe R&D peut compter sur sa longue expérience tout en s’appuyant sur notre réseau d’universités. Vos projets bénéficient de la maîtrise technique et scientifique d’un leader mondial dans ce domaine, alliée au savoir-faire et à l’expérience de professionnels de l’horlogerie. Création de nouveaux matériaux, conception avancée, usinage de pointe ou réalisation de boîtes classiques, notre profil unique dans le domaine de la sous-traitance horlogère garantit le profil exclusif de vos produits.

Contactez-nous !

arrow_back

Retour

Matériaux

Matériaux
close

Matériaux


Le monde de l’horlogerie est en quête perpétuelle de matériaux plus performants ou offrant de nouvelles possibilités esthétiques. Ou les deux à la fois. Pour relever ces défis et découvrir les meilleurs solutions, Del West dispose d’une organisation unique alliant science des matériaux et compétences de pointe dans la réalisation. Que vous souhaitiez utiliser des matériaux réputés impossibles à travailler pour réaliser des produits innovants, ou que votre idée n’en soit qu’au stade « papier », notre équipe est là pour vous épauler et vous aider à repousser les limites. Durée de vie prolongée, esthétique unique, toucher incomparable, vos boîtes et composants d’habillage sont réalisés dans les meilleurs matériaux, des classiques de l’horlogerie aux structures les plus innovantes.

Conception & industrialisation

Conception & industrialisation
close

Conception et industrialisation


Chez Del West, il arrive fréquemment qu’un collaborateur se demande : « Et si… » C’est souvent ainsi que naît une idée, d’un mélange de curiosité et d’imagination. Tout commence par une idée. Mais les idées nous viennent également de nos clients. Dans la plus stricte confidentialité, nos spécialistes interprètent alors leur demande pour la rationnaliser. C’est le temps de l’aide à la conception. Une fois l’idée arrêtée, nous conceptualisons différentes options avec des logiciels CAO (conception assistée par ordinateur) tels que CATIA ou SolidWorks, des standards de l’industrie. Nous utilisons ensuite des logiciels MEF (méthode des éléments finis) comme ANSYS, ou d’autres que nous développons à l’interne, pour évaluer le comportement de chaque option face à différentes contraintes physiques. Enfin, nous procédons à des itérations successives jusqu’à ce que nous soyons certains de détenir la solution parfaite.

Qualité

Qualité
close

Qualité


La précision apparaît dans la signature de Del West, et ce n’est pas un hasard. Elle définit notre organisation. Nous exigeons de nos produits une qualité irréprochable, car notre histoire a fait de cette exigence un élément vital. Attestée par une authentique culture de la haute qualité, impérative dans le monde de la Formule 1, la précision largement reconnue de nos produits est garantie par les instruments de mesure tridimensionnels et optiques les plus avancés. Mais aussi par la valeur de nos collaborateurs : le visitage des pièces de vos montres est assuré par des professionnels dotés d’une longue expérience dans l’horlogerie. L’appréciation visuelle est réalisée selon les codes les plus rigoureux de l’esthétique horlogère.

Production

Production
close

Production


Usinage complexe, décolletage, reprise, électro-érosion à fil, rectification multiaxes, Del West est en mesure de réaliser l’ensemble des opérations de production sur son site suisse grâce à son vaste parc de machines de pointe. Acier, laiton, titane, notre expérience des matériaux conventionnels ou exotiques nous permet de travailler, façonner et maîtriser l’esthétique de n’importe quelle matière. Que ce soit pour quelques pièces ou pour des séries produites à des milliers d’exemplaires, la qualité et le style de vos montres seront irréprochables.

Terminaison

Terminaison
close

Terminaison


Del West est reconnu depuis de très nombreuses années comme spécialiste mondial de l’état de surface, élément essentiel du fonctionnement comme de l’esthétique d’une montre. Des professionnels expérimentés travaillent vos pièces dans notre atelier exclusivement dédié au polissage et à l’avivage des pièces d’horlogerie.

DLC et PVD

DLC et PVD
close

DLC et PVD


Le revêtement DLC (Diamond Like Carbon) est un film extrêmement fin appliqué par « dépôt chimique en phase vapeur, assisté plasma », ou PACVD (Plasma-assisted Chemical Vapor Deposition). Ces revêtements offrent la combinaison d’un très faible coefficient de frottement et d’une extrême dureté. Ils sont utilisés pour réduire l’usure dans une vaste palette d’applications industrielles, mais aussi pour rendre les pièces d’horlogerie plus belles. Del West les exploite surtout lorsque la réduction des frictions est un objectif primordial, dans les composants de mouvements de montres par exemple. En dehors des applications horlogères, nous utilisons ce revêtement depuis plus de 20 ans pour des produits destinés au sport automobile. Notre pôle « revêtements en couches minces » est assuré par UB-TS, notre joint-venture créée avec notre partenaire HEF et établie sur le site de Roche.

Traitement de surface PEO

Traitement de surface PEO
close

Traitement de surface PEO


L’oxydation par plasma électrolytique ou PEO (Plasma Electrolytic Oxidation) est un traitement céramique haute densité et dureté appliqué à des surfaces en alliages légers comme l’aluminium, le titane, le magnésium ou encore le Zirconium. Nous appliquons des traitements d’une épaisseur moyenne de 30 microns et d’une extrême dureté. Il se différencie d’autres traitements de surface, comme l’anodisation, aussi bien par son adhésion intrinsèque au substrat auquel il est appliqué que par sa plus grande résistance à la fatigue. Il est également beaucoup plus dense. Les applications pour ce traitement sont nombreuses et incluent notamment les revêtements pour les ressorts de rappel pneumatiques de soupapes F1 et certains composants de montres.

Del West – Europe


ZI des Vernes
1852 Roche
Suisse

T. +41 21 967 2121
F. +41 21 967 2127

Contact

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour obtenir des renseignements sur nos produits, notre société, ou pour toute autre demande.

Notre équipe est à votre disposition et se fera un plaisir de vous répondre.